Embroidery = addiction.

If you want to get into embroidery, I highly recommend picking up Aimee Ray’s Doodle Stitching.  She has a fresh, young take on these ancient stitches, and her book is perfect for beginners (like me!).  And now I can’t stop “doodling.”  Exhibit A:

Flower Embroidered Pillow

{Fabric: Joel Dewberry. Collection: Manzanita. Print: Lilly.}

I have to admit, though, that I still appreciate a good pattern every now and then.  To make the below pillowcase, I Googled “coral,” printed off a random picture of coral that struck my fancy, and traced the basic outline onto a pillowcase.  I quickly embroidered the outline with a split stitch, using 6 plies for the thicker branches and 3 for the smaller, and VOILA:

Coral Embroidered Pillow

{Too Good to Sleep on? Nah.}

1 Comment

Filed under Crafts

One response to “Embroidery = addiction.

  1. Ivychan

    That’s so pretty! I bet it looks great on your beachy bedspread

Leave a Reply

