Cupid Misses

{Valentine Basics}

Every year, Cupid misses me … he just passes me by on his quest to bring singles together all over the world.  Instead of staying in bed on February 14, though, I celebrate love.  My way.

My little brother woke me up at 9 a.m. on this glorious Hallmark holiday with a simple request: “Please come with me to get Meredith her Valentine’s gifts.  I’m too hungover to drive.”  Because Fresh Market doesn’t open until 10 a.m., we had brunch until 9:45.  {Nothing better than brunch with a guy you love on Valentine’s Day.}  To kill the remaining 15 minutes until 10 a.m., we had coffee at Starbucks, where I got a beautiful new mug {above}.  And finally at Fresh Market, just past 10 a.m., Brandon found embarrassingly-humongous pink roses for Mere, while I found quaint, understated, antique spray roses {above}.

At home, I arranged the roses in my new mug … {Happy Valentine’s Day to me!}.  And before I knew it, Mom had me on the other end of the kitchen, carefully piping melted red cocoa butter into “LOVE” for handmade, heart-shaped chocolates {right}.  How pretty!

If Cupid missed you today, too, all is not lost :)  Get out of bed and make some of your very own cheer!

2 Comments

Filed under Crafts

2 responses to “Cupid Misses

  1. Alysha

    The roses may be understated but your talent is not.

  2. Jenn

    You should bring some of those red cocoa butter things in here. Wait…no you shouldn’t.

Leave a Reply

