Softies

Softie Puppy

{Softie Puppy}

I’m like a kid in a candy store when I step through the doors of any arts-and-crafts store.  My mind races.  I can’t focus.  I want it all.  Today, I browsed the book section for inspiration, and I couldn’t put down Softies by Therese Laskey.  First thing’s first: what the heck is a softie?  From what I’ve learned this afternoon, they are plush little handmade dolls &c. that are just too adorable for words.  Crafters everywhere have discovered them, and I’m wondering what in the heck took me so long.  I modeled mine after this softie of hers {not gonna lie – I snapped a photo of the page instead of buying the book just yet}.

Second order of business: who was the lucky recipient of my very first softie?  Bob.

Bob’s another father figure to me, and he has this lonely little monkey that his friend’s 7-y/o daughter made.  Every softie should have a softie friend, no?

Come to think of it, I did make my tiny cousin Gavin a plush little handmade doll last year {left}.  Maybe that was a softie, too, and I didn’t even know it?  My favorite part of the owl is the back {not shown} … I gave him buttcheeks.
One day, very far from now, I may have children, or at least my friends will, and this little craft will be handy.  Until then, you probably won’t see me make too many softies.

{02.22.10} I lied. I woke up this morning and knew I’d have to make another softie … It’s not perfection, could definitely be cuter, and only has 2 legs instead of 4, but this is 2-y/o Aiden’s elephant. Happy birthday, little darling!

2 Comments

Filed under Crafts

2 responses to “Softies

  1. Jennifer

    And Aiden LOVES it!!! He was holding it, making the elephant noise, and kept making sure Guinness didn’t jump up and snatch it out of his hands (which he was trying to do on several occasions). Thank you, Ms. Beddie; he thinks it’s so great! :)

Leave a Reply

