Sketched & Etched

{The First Etched Glass}

I learned (from Martha) that etched glass is a quick and simple process involving glass, paintbrushes, etching cream, and stencils.  So before stocking up on wine for the weekend, I ran into Michael’s to find a 3 oz. bottle of etching cream ($13), cheap glass ($0.99/piece), and a pad of 25 sheets of clear craft plastic ($11).  I used the craft plastic to make my own stencils {draw or trace a shape onto the plastic & cut out the void shapes with a crafting knife}.  To secure the stencil to the glass, I placed rolled Scotch tape behind a majority of the stencil.  And though the directions on the Armour Etch bottle suggest leaving the cream on for 1 to 5 minutes before washing it off, I’d suggest at least 15 minutes.

I have much to learn with this craft, but it sure is instant gratification at its finest.  You can order custom etch stencils online, too, and I’m very seriously considering ordering a monogram {ALB} for my next attempt.

3 Comments

Filed under Crafts

3 responses to “Sketched & Etched

  1. ivy

    that is SO cool. Wow. Etched glass. That is some craft right there

  2. Lisa Hightower

    Contact paper would work well too, instead of the craft plastic, although I think you’d have to cut out the pattern again each time you wanted to use it. I guess it just depends on if you want repeats or one-of-a-kind etchings.

    • That is a marvelous idea. I’ve been trying to think of a better stencil medium because the craft plastic doesn’t mold around the glass as well as would stickers. Thank you, Lisa! I’ll let you know how it works out (hopefully, superbly well).

Leave a Reply

