Devilishy-Delish Choco Chip Gems

{Yo-Hi choco chip cookies}

Mom has the best *secret* recipe for chocolate chip cookies. It’s from her Yo-Hi Devils high school cookbook (yeah I know: high school cookbook?), and I have been wooing boys and pleasing co-workers with this recipe since I was old enough to follow these super-easy instructions:

*Preheat oven to 350 F*
{1} Cream together 1 c. Crisco, 3/4 c. sugar, & 3/4 c. brown sugar.
{2} Add 2 eggs & 1 tsp. vanilla. Stir until well combined.
{3} Add
2 c. flour, 1 tsp. salt, & 1 tsp. baking soda. Stir.
{4} Stir in
1.5 c. chocolate chips.
{5} Spoon onto baking sheet. Bake 10-15 minutes.
{6} Eat warm and/or cool.

NB: When I was little, I stirred ingredients with a wooden spoon, spooned dough with silver teaspoons onto a bare cookie sheet, cooled cookies on tinfoil spread across the counter, & let my little brother lick the spoon and bowl with me. Now, I still stir with a wooden spoon, but I line baking sheets with parchment paper, spoon dough with a mini ice cream scoop, and cool cookies on a wire rack. Oh, and I lick the spoon and bowl myself. Either way, these turn out great every time. Just don’t tell other Yo-Hi Devils I’m publicizing the recipe …

{Bella loves them, too}

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Devilishy-Delish Choco Chip Gems

  1. Lauren Kill

    Best cookies ever.

Leave a Reply

